NATO Parliamentary Assembly labels Russia a ‘terrorist state’

On 21 November the NATO Parliamentary Assembly (PA), which is institutionally separate from NATO, unanimously voted to adopt a resolution recognising Russia as a “terrorist state”. In its 68th Annual Session in Madrid, the PA also urged NATO allies to increase their military support to Ukraine and to aid the country’s integration into Euro-Atlantic institutions. The Assembly is not a formal body of NATO but an independent union of the parliaments of the member states and associated nations.

Taking place from 18-21 November, the session saw all 269 parliamentarians from the 30 NATO member nations and about 100 members from partner countries and parliamentary bodies meet to assess how decisions made at the NATO Summit in June align with the Assembly’s earlier recommendations for NATO’s new Strategic Concept, broader adaptation and modernisation, standing with Ukraine and confronting Russia’s threat.

Read more in the attached pdf.